Peter Kirtley

Bush Telegraph

14 Tracks. Total running time: 67 mins 54 secs. All (except track 2) original compositions.

Track Listing

1. Save a piece of your heart

2. Halfway to paradise (Goffin/King)

3. Bird chase bird

4. If the gentle rains that fall

5. Bush telegraph

6. Next year

7. Roman wall blues

8. Way of the world

9. Sweet talkin blues

10. Lets go walkin

11. Don't throw this love away

12. Nobody knows

13. Suppertime

14. Mrs Bell

Peter Kirtley began his musical journey with the Alan Price set in 1966. A well travelled and colourful career has since developed from the Hamburg clubs of the 60's. In later years he worked and recorded with "Yes" drummer Alan White, George Harrison and the Kevin Coyne Band. He was recently a member of the reformed Pentangle, and recorded the last three albums with them.

Bush Telegraph is his second solo album, and features the amazing vocal and piano talents of Liane Carroll, She has previously recorded with Ladysmith, the Black Mombazo Choir, Gerry Rafferty, and Long John Baldry.

Produced by Colin Gibson ex of Brit rockers "Snafu", the album is a rare mix of Jazz, Blues, Soul, Rock and Folk.

Peter Kirtley: vocals and guitar

Liane Carroll: piano and vocals

Steve Lamb: bass

Greg Leppard: drums, percussion and vocals

What The Press Say

If you want to hear music which speaks of joy and pain of life, but does not patronise or fall back on tired musical and lyrical cliches, then you cannot afford to miss it. (Michael Gormley)

25 years of experience shows in this album, full of music which is timeless. Whether he can break through against marketing and ignorance is unlikely but not impossible. (Mittelbayrische Zeitung, German newspaper)

His gently impressive approach to songwriting should find a niche in the classy contemporary performer market as he offers the kind of well crafted compositions many a chartbuster would die for. reminiscient of Chris Rea and Mark Knopfler. (Steve Caseman, rock'n Reel)

<Previous | Index | Next>